Marius Hendrik s JACOB (1817-1907): Magistrate and vice-president of the Amsterdam Appeal Court (1890-1899), he was also a member of the supervisory board of the NCDB from 1863 to 1872. Advisory Council member from 1872 to 1903.

Petrus Wilhelmus SCHOLTEN (1835-1913): Securities broker and managing partner of the firm Weduwe Tjeenk & Co., he replaced Joseph Cahen on the Advisory Council on 18 May 1874. Advisory Council member from 1874 to 1913.

Balthazar HELDRING (1839-1907): Managing director of Kas-Vereeniging until 1880, he was appointed that same year managing director of the Nederlandsche Handel-Maatschappij (NHM) and served as its president from 1900 to 1907. When he joined the NHM it was still mainly a trading company doing business with the Dutch East Indies (Indonesia), with some banking activities as well. It was he who transformed NHM into a fully- fledged bank. He was a member of the supervisory board of the Surinaamsche Bank (1879-1907), which had been founded by the NCDB in 1864. Advisory Council member from 1902 to 1907.

Cornelis Hendricus van TIENHOVEN (1846-1920): Former managing director of the Maatschappij voor Gemeentecrediet (Amsterdam Municipal Credit Company) and the Kas-Vereeniging, he was in 1897 appointed managing director of the Dutch central bank, the Nederlandsche Bank. Advisory Council member from 1903 to 1920.

Cornelis (Kees) Herman GUEPIN (1874-1935): Lawyer and public prosecutor (1899-1917), managing director at the Nederlandsche Handel-Maatschappij (1918-1923) in charge of banking business in the Netherlands. Advisory Council from 1919 to 1923.

Maurits Cornelis van HALL (1836-1900): Company secretary of the NCDB (1863-1872), then managing director of the Paribas branch in the Netherlands (1872-1896), he was simultaneously a substitute member (1880-1884) and member (1884-1900) of the supervisory board of the Nederlandsche Handel-Maatschappij, a member of the management committee of the Vereeniging voor den Effectenhandel (the association of securities professionals which ran the Amsterdam Stock Exchange, vice- president of the Amsterdam Chamber of Commerce (1883-1890), before serving as a senator (1896-1900). Advisory Council member from 1899 to 1900.

147T H E A D V I S O R Y C O U N C I L (1 8 7 2-1 9 6 8 )