Jacob Bierens de Haan (1870-1937) from 1923 to 1934 Emile David van Walrée (1871-1950) from 1920 to 1950 Marie Paul Voûte (1882-1955) from 1921 to 1955 Petrus Emelius Tegelberg (1874-1954) from 1925 to 1953 Daniel Crena de Iongh (1888-1970) from 1935 to 1939 Willem La Gro (1874-1948) from 1936 to 1948 Baron C.J. Collot d Escury (1888-1966) from 1940 to 1966 Johannes Olijslager (1897-1962) from 1954 to 1961 August Deknatel (1876-1963) from 1956 to 1963 Willem Hugo de Monchy (1894-1968) from 1958 to 1968 Jan Bosman from 1963 to 1968 Julius Anton Gerard Jonckheer (1906-1969) from 1963 to 1966 Franciscus Petrus Antonius van Oyen (1901-1988) from 1966 to 1968


Gideon Maria BOISSEVAIN (1837-1925): Banker, internationally recognised economist and writer. After selling his brokerage house, Holjé & Boissevain, to the NCDB in 1872, he devoted himself to studying the banking system and public finance. He also co-founded the Amsterdam-based Kas-Vereeniging (today called KAS Bank) and sat on the boards of a number of banking houses. Advisory Council member from 1872 to 1921.

Joseph CAHEN (1810-1880): Originally from Antwerp, he was a banker in Amsterdam (1834) and Paris (1870), younger brother of Meyer-Joseph Cahen of Antwerp, who also worked as a banker in Paris. Appointed to the Advisory Council in 1872, he resigned at the meeting of 18 May 1874. He was a Board member of the Algemeene Maatschappij voor Handel en Nijverheid (1863-1867), an investment bank close to the Pereire brothers, the Bischoffsheim family and Hirsch. Advisory Council member from 1872 to 1874.

Alexander Isaac von HEMERT (1833-1896): Partner in the Amsterdam- based firm of Alstorphius & von Hemert, traders, insurers and securities brokers. He was a Board member and Managing Director of the NCDB, to which he sold his firm in 1869. Advisory Council member from 1872 to 1896.

146 T H E H I S T O R Y O F B N P PA R I B A S I N T H E N E T H E R L A N D S